The Neolog Synagogue building was built between 1929 and 1931 according to the design of the world-famous German architect Peter Behrens on the site of the original synagogue from 1861. The central space was designed for 450 men and the galleries had space for 300 women. During the Second World War, the synagogue was used as a grain and furniture warehouse. After the war it housed the House of Education, later the Park of Culture and Recreation. In 1960, the Transport College moved from Prague to Žilina and used it as its auditorium. Since 1993 the Centrum cinema has been located here. Between 2011 and 2017, the interior was extensively renovated. Today, the synagogue is a cultural institution with exhibition space for contemporary art and other cultural activities.