The Municipal Market Hall was built between 1940 and 1941 according to the architectural design by Mikuláš Šesták and Ferdinand Čapka. The building is two-storeyed with a skeleton construction and lined with ceramic brick cladding. Typical architectural details of this building are round windows and rounded glass-concrete walls. The passageway is conceived as an atrium with rounded corners that create the elegance of this space. The market hall was entered through large lockable gates. On the ground floor, a row of small shops was created on one side of it and covered sales points on the other side. Open sales points were also on the first floor. In 1961, the first self-service shop in the city called "Direction" was established on the ground floor of the building.