Holy Trinity Cathedral

Žilina

Listen to the guide

The Church of the Holy Trinity is one of the oldest and most important buildings in Žilina. Its history dates back to the fourteenth century, when the first written mention dates back to 1400. It was originally dedicated to the Virgin Mary, but it acquired its present name at the end of the sixteenth century. The church has experienced dramatic fates. In the mid-sixteenth century it was occupied by the armed robber knights of the Podmanick family, who converted it into a fortress. It was later repaired by Nicholas Dersffy and in 1586 it was re-consecrated, this time as the Church of the Holy Trinity. The history of the church was marked by disasters. In 1678 it was completely burnt down in a fire, even the bells melted. Even more dramatic was the fire of 1848, which destroyed almost the whole of Žilina. The church was left in ruins, but the statue of the Virgin Mary was rescued from it and is still in Višňovy today. That is why the people of Žilina make an annual pilgrimage to this statue. The reconstruction after the catastrophic fire was led by Žilina parish priest Andrej Lemeš according to the plans of Jozef Božetech Klemens. This prominent painter and naturalist also created the altarpieces that can still be admired in the church today. Next to the church stands Burian's Tower, built around 1530 as a fortress building. It got its name from the largest bell, which once weighed more than two thousand kilograms.

Website

Holy Trinity Cathedral

Where it is

Open in a map