Manor house in Oščadnica
Oščadnica
Listen to the guide
The Oščadnica manor house was built at the beginning of the twentieth century as a summer hunting lodge of Count Valentin Ballestrem. The count came from an old noble family whose roots date back to the sixteenth century.
The construction of the manor house was completed between 1910 and 1913, and the surrounding area became a forest park with a poplar avenue all the way to Čadca. After 1918, the manor house passed into the hands of several owners and was also used for economic purposes. It was nationalized in 1948 and in 1976 it became a part of the Kysuce Gallery. It is still housed here today. After several stages of reconstruction, modern exhibition spaces were created, including the attic, and the entire forest park was restored. Today, the manor house and the park are a national cultural monument.
Visitors will find here a permanent exhibition of the founders of Kysuce as well as short-term exhibitions. The park with its varied greenery and garden elements serves not only for relaxation, but also for cultural events.