Sulov Castle
Súľov-Hradná
Listen to the guide
Sulov Castle was built in the thirteenth century to protect the nearby trade route. The first written mention of it dates back to 1470, when the Hungarian King Matthias Corvinus allowed to strengthen and expand the original fortress, which already then served to guard the surrounding area. The castle consisted of two parts - the lower castle and the upper castle, which were connected by a narrow tunnel carved in the rock. The lower castle consisted of a solid entrance bastion, while the upper castle was over eighteen metres high and contained many rooms, including living and reception areas, a kitchen and an armoury. An interesting feature is a rainwater cistern carved into the rock and an observation room overlooking the surrounding area.
In the sixteenth century, the castle often changed hands and was the subject of disputes between noble families. In fifteen fifty-five there was a fire which damaged the castle, but it was rebuilt to its original extent. Over time, however, the castle fell into disrepair, ceased to be used after seventeen eighty-seven and was damaged by earthquakes in seventeen sixty-three and almost a hundred years later, in eighteen fifty-eight.
Today, only ruins remain of Sulov Castle - fragments of walls and foundations carved into the rocks. The castle is an interesting example of medieval architecture and adaptation to the difficult rocky terrain. It has been a national cultural monument since one thousand nine hundred and sixty-three and reminds us how our ancestors knew how to use nature for defence and living in difficult conditions. If you are looking for remnants of authentic history in the heart of the Sulov Rocks, Sulov Castle is one of those places.